09-13-11

I’m finally back to the apartment and my computer, so I decided to catch up on what’s been going on with me!  The last time I blogged was my first hospital admission.  I was there for a week.  It was a very difficult week, the bright spot being the day Daddy and Jan came to visit me!  I needed to see my Daddy really bad!  And Jan is always a bright spot and I appreciated her driving daddy to Houston to see me and Wade.  They spent the afternoon, we had a great time!  Glo arrived on Wednesday to spend a week with me, and I was so happy to see her!  At the end of that week, the Doctors decided that I could be dismissed if I could control my pain with oral meds.  Up until then it was mostly  IV, pain pump, etc.  So on Friday the 9th I was dismissed.  This only lasted until Sunday when Glo and I made the dreaded trip to the emergency room.  That night I was admitted again, this time to the 17th floor.  This floor has recently been remodeled and the rooms are very nice, large, big windows, you get the picture!  Again , it was controlling pain and side effects from pain medication.  The BK virus is unbelievably painful, and since it is a virus it is unpredictable.  The pain is something I will have to live with for a while.  They got me somewhat straightened out and released me late this afternoon.  So happy to be back at the apartment!  Glo picked the most difficult week to be my caretaker…she had her work cut out for her!  Glo is a fabulous cook, and cooked shrimp scampi over linguine noodles, caesar salad, baked potato, and asiago bread.  I loved every bite!  Tomorrow she will fly out to Montana and Wade will fly in.  I will go back to the hospital and receive the cidofovir which is the drug they are hoping will help with the virus and I will see my team.  Meanwhile it is good to be back at the apartment again!  Maybe tomorrow my team will give me an idea of when I can go home to Hereford.  I am trying to keep my head up!  Here are some pics:

                                                                                                       I look like my daddy…our bald heads even look alike!

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                I love these two!

9 thoughts on “09-13-11

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sweet Holly and Wade,
    So glad you’re in your apartment. You are blessed to have such wonderful family and friends. But I’m not surprised because you are such a joy to be around. Even through all of this transplant buisness you continue to amaze me with your kind heart and beautiful smile! I’m ready for you to get a report on when you can go to Hereford and I know it is coming!! Tell Wade hi and you take good care of each other. Love and miss you!
    GOD’s Blessings,
    Monica

  2. Gay says:

    Great pictures! Daddy was so happy to see you. Am hoping & praying you get a good report. Home Sweet Home!

    Love,
    Gay

  3. Mikie says:

    So good to hear from you and see the new photos. Louis and Jan look soooo good. I can see how much they cheered you up. So sorry this virus is so painful, but also so greatful they have meds to address it. Spent some time with Mom last week. Her memory is really on the fritz! Love you!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Loved the pictures of you, Jan and your dad! From the smile on his face, I think he needed to see you as badly as you needed to see him!! I am so glad the visit went well. You have been through so much. I know God continues to hold you in His hands, and I’m so grateful you can at least eat! Sounds like some pretty good grub down that way!

    Keep your chin up and that lovely smile shining! You are so beautiful, Miss Holly! Love you..Becky R

  5. You look so good, Holly! I love the picture of you and your dad – what a special visit! I’m so proud of you and your fight, and can’t wait to see you back in Hereford! Love, hugs and HOPE!!!
    Julie

  6. ROSIE says:

    OMG…YOU ARE A TOTALLY AWESOME WOMEN. I HAVE YET TO SEE ANYTHING BUT A HUGE SMILE ON YOUR FACE. YOU ARE TRULY AN INSPIRATION FOR NOT FEELING SORRY FOR YOURSELF!! WE ARE ALL SO BLESSED TO BE HERE AND BE HEALTHY. AND YOU ARE BLESSED WITH SUCH A BRIGHT ATTITUDE AND GETTING SO MUCH BETTER. THANK YOU!!!!!

  7. Anonymous says:

    Holly,
    I loved the pics, you look so beautiful with that million dollar smile. I am glad you are back home, and soon,back home with us and your family. Just know ,you are in my thoughts and prayers daily. I am so happy for you that you were able to spend time with your Daddy and Jan. More cards soon! Love, Hugs & kisses to you and Wade,
    Joyce

  8. Jeff Williams says:

    I’ve been thinking about you. I hope you’re on the downhill slide this time, Holly!

  9. Monte says:

    Oh what good pictures of all of you!! Your head does look just like your Daddy’s! I am so glad they could come and see you. I know ya’ll all needed to see each other but especially you and your Daddy. I hope you are maintaining some relief from this terrible pain and that your team has some good ideas of how to control it without you having to go to the hosp. I know, and am thankful that they take such good care of you but I know you would rather be at the apt. as much as possible. Hope Wade is still with you but but I’m about a week behind so I’ll find out on your next ‘writing”.
    Love you much, Holly,
    Monte

Leave a comment