03-01-12

I saw something on Facebook last week that kind of fits right in with my motto, “You’ve Gotta Fake It Until You Make It”.   It goes like this…”We believe what we tell ourselves”.  The more you think and act like a well person instead of a sick person, the better you will feel.  And with my latest issue, the dreaded cankle (!) caused by deep vein thrombosis, I needed to think about it and write about it.   Before I went to Houston for my stem cell transplant, my dear friend Rosanna, told me to always think good, positive thoughts because the body follows the brain.  I’ve experimented with getting down in a bad funk, and have decided that I really did feel much worse and don’t really want to go there!   So here’s the latest on my condition.  My swelling is just now beginning to get better….yay!  I can still wear only one pair of shoes (boots), but I can tell that the inflammation, pain, and swelling are subsiding.  And here is a happy thing:  Wade is getting to be an expert at giving me the Lovenox shots, and I am getting less squeamish about receiving them.  My side effects from the last round of chemo are subsiding so things are looking up!  Next week we will fly to Houston for my bone marrow biopsy, a couple of appointments at MDA, and my appointment to be interviewed and video taped for MD Anderson’s Pre-Care website.  I’m excited about this!  Wish me luck.  It will be a very quick trip.

Think good, kind, happy thoughts…and believe them!

Here are some pics from my last trip to Tyler.

    Jan and I eating tacos

 

Me with my Mom and Dad

4 thoughts on “03-01-12

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sweet Holly,
    Glad your attitude is positive but you have been very positive through your whole ordeal. GOD is walking right beside you and when you are weary let HIM carry you! Expecting a good report from Houston.
    GOD’s Blessings,
    Monica

  2. Anonymous says:

    Loved your blog…it reminded me of a quote I like: “Your attitude determines your altitude!” I try to think postive most of the time, and totally agree with you that it makes a person feel better. You are wise and a big inspiration to many of us! I so wish you better days…it’s approaching a year since you began this journey, and you and Wade have shown extraordinary courage. Love the pictures. You and your sweet sister, Jan, made me hungry!
    Love ya…God bless you…Becky R.

  3. Joyce Wells says:

    Dear sweet friend,
    Loved your pic’s, two beautiful girls! So happy your leg is much better. Honey, the motto “Fake it till you make it” was mine when I started to raise my boys by myself, given to me by a lady I worked with. It was good to keep that in my mind.I do believe in the power of positive thinking,Dale Carnegie’s motto. I can hardly wait for your interview and taping at MD. Way to go Wade with the Lovenot injections,always knew you could do it, and she would be less jumpy about them. Love you guys.
    Prayers,Hugs and Kisses,
    Joyce

  4. Becky Scurlock says:

    The best thought I had when reading your blog is what an amazing person you are Holly and how much you inspire me and others. Plus you just look so darn pretty in your pictures!
    Praying all goes well at the biopsy and appointments. I know that you will do a super job on the video and I hope that there will be a way for all of us friends to see it.
    Hugs to you and Mr. Injector Extraordinare!
    Becky

Leave a Reply

