02-09-12

Basically I got a good report last week at MD Anderson.  Dr. Hosing told me I can quit taking the steroids now (which caused me to do a little happy dance!), my thinning bone problem might be manageable with calcium supplements and exercise, but the bad news is I did not read my instruction sheet for my bone marrow biopsy which was a mistake!  I needed to be off coumadin for 7 days prior to the procedure and I didn’t even think about it.  I have had so many of those biopsies that I don’t read the instructions that they mail to me.  Whoops!  So I will go back the first of March for the biopsy, and I will also see a dermatologist and dentist there in MDA to see if my problems are due to graft vs host.  It was a quick trip.  My friend from San Antonio and I will get together another time.  Wade and I had a great meal with Richard and Patti (my nurse during my bone marrow biopsies) at Churrascos South American Grill.  Their steak is excellent.  It is marinated in a chimichuri and is listed in the top 20 best steaks in the country.  They have delicious empanadas, and the tres leches cake is to die for!  The second night we were there we had dinner with Kelli, Tony, and Lynzi at Pappadeaux which was wonderful. Just too short!  It was great to spend time with them.

While at the hospital I got to meet Lucy who works in Communications at MD Anderson and asked me to blog on MDA’s  Cancerwise blog.  I instantly loved her…she is the sweetest!   Here is a pic:

Next week is chemo week for me, and I am hoping it won’t be too bad this time.  Maybe by then I will have some of my reports back from Houston.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TOMORROW , HAYES!!!!!

Here are some more pics:

                                                                                                                                                           I LOVE my mom and dad!

                                                                                                                                                   Dinner at Churrascos with Patti and Richard

                                                                                                                                                   Kelli, Tony, and Lynzi at Pappadeaux

                                                                                                                                                   Me with my girls

Hope you all have a great weekend!

5 thoughts on “02-09-12

  1. Monica Dunlap says:

    Holly,
    In my prayers always!
    Monica

  2. Anonymous says:

    Holly: The pictures show such a beautiful lady who exhibits great courage every single day! I admire you so much for your lovely smile…which has never faded! It was good to see a picture of your folks. I miss them so much! Everytime I read your descriptions of food, I get SO hungry!!

    I’m very happy that you have some good news and look forward to even more good bullentins.
    Love you…Becky R.

  3. Dina says:

    I hope everything goes smoothly for you! 🙂 love and miss ya’ll!

  4. Linda Block says:

    Holly, you just look adorable..Hope for continued good reports. Much love to you and prayers still every night for you…

  5. Anonymous says:

    Yay for good reports!! My Grandma said she saw you, and that you looked GREAT!! She was right, these pictures are Fabulous!!!! Miss you Lots, Love, Jacklyn

Leave a Reply

