01-29-12

Hi People,

I had a wonderful week in Tyler with my Mom and Dad and Jan and Bill.  It was truly so very nice to finally be able to spend time with them.  I adored every second!  And already miss them!  Only bad thing was that Bill got a kidney stone the first night I was there, and it was a rough week for him.  I will post pics after I get them downloaded.

It’s going to be a busy week ahead….traveling to Houston for appointments on Wednesday and Thursday.  I will see Dr. Hosing and find out how I am doing post transplant.  I have several questions about graft verses host, my meds, etc.  Then I will see Dr. Huifang Lu in the Internal Medicine Center to find out what to do about my thinning bones.  I think this may be the result of chemo, prednisone, or both because I have never had this problem before.  Then I will have the dreaded bone marrow aspiration and biopsy.  I guess it’s not really that bad…just the soreness for several days afterward.  Actually my dear friend, Patti, who is a nurse in that department takes excellent care of me!  I love my Patti!  In fact Wade and I will have dinner with Patti and her husband Richard while we are there.  This has become a tradition that we enjoy.

Speaking of MD Anderson, a very sweet person named Lucy, who works in the communications department at MD Anderson and has been following my blog, asked if I would blog on the MDA Cancerwise blog.  This was pretty exciting for me to be asked to do that!  My first post went up last week.  I hope to keep blogging there in hopes of, in some small way, be of help and inspiration to others.  Here is the link if you would like to take a peek:  http://www2.mdanderson.org/cancerwise/2012/01/tips-for-newcomers-at-md-anderson.html  I hope to meet Lucy while I am there this week.

We will also see Kelli and Lynzi…yippee!  Really looking forward to that.  And to hopefully get to hang out with my friend Ernestine.  She and I went to dental hygiene school next door to MD Anderson, graduating in 1975 from The Univ. of Texas Dental Branch, School of Dental Hygiene.  Several of us would go eat lunch at the cafeteria at MDA because it was the closest, best place for lunch.  Who woulda thought we would be back 37 years later for other reasons!  It has been at least 20 years since we have seen each other.  Can’t wait!

Lastly, I’ve been intending to post a recipe that I didn’t get around to during my “12 Days of Christmas Cooking” on the blog, so here it is.  This Cal Dio rocks!  The recipe came from my daughter, Blaire, who got the recipe from her and Richie’s friend, Kim Caffey.  He lived a number of years in El Paso before moving back to Friona.  He was at Blaire and Richie’s Annual Christmas Morning Breakfast (which is truly awesome and amazing…we had Richie’s chicken fried pork chops, sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, homemade cinnamon rolls and biscuits and gravy!)  so I snapped a pic and politely asked permission to post the recipe!  He said the original recipe calls for hamburger, but he uses sirloin steak.  I use either steak or a roast.  It is YUMMY…especially on a chilly day with flour tortillas.

                                                                                                                                   Blaire and Kim

CAL DIO

3 lbs. cubed beef (steak or roast)

1 1/2 c. diced onion

bacon fat

2 cans stewed tomatoes

1/2 c. beef broth (I use 1 can)

1/2 c. chicken stock (again 1 can because we like it thinner)

1 1/2 c. chopped green chilies

2 tsp. salt (I start with a little less)

2 tsp. pepper

2 tsp. garlic salt

1 to 2 tsp. cumin (we like 2)

2 lbs. potatoes, peeled and cubed

Saute beef and onion in bacon fat.  Add everything else except potatoes.   Cook over low heat until meat is tender.  Add potatoes last 30 min. and cook until potatoes are done.

Serve with flour tortillas.

Makes 1 gallon

5 thoughts on “01-29-12

  1. Mikie says:

    I enjoyed reading your MDA post last week. It was really informative and well-written. I will remember specifically your visit to Houston this week in my prayers. Love you, Mikie

  2. Kelli says:

    We cant wait to see yall too!! I love you Holly!! Have a safe trip to Houston!!

  3. Monica Dunlap says:

    Holly,
    What a booked schedule you have while you are in Houston!! We too will be there Wed. a.d Thur. Call me if have time. I am seeing my college roommate Wed. and going to dinner. We are both blessed to have friends in Houston. Please keep me updated on your health report from MDAnderson. Travel mercies for you and Wade. Take care and I love you!
    GOD’s Blessings,
    Monica

  4. Monte says:

    Wow!! No wonder I haven’t heard from you!! You are one busy girl!! My prayers are with you always but especially for this week. Safe travels and hope we can catch up when you get back home. Do you know for sure when that is? Just give me a call.
    Love you, Holly,
    Monte

  5. Monte says:

    I read your blog on MD Anderson’s website too and am so happy they asked you to do that. You will be such an encouragement to so many!!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

