01-08-12

Here I am with my beautiful grandchildren!  Oh how I love love love them!  They are adorable and make my heart sing!

 

Yesterday I decided to make homemade pizza for lunch and I used Lidia Bastianich’s dough recipe.  Then I used some stuff I had on hand for toppings…sliced campari tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, fresh basil, and parmesan baked until nice and bubbly.  When it came out of the oven I threw on some proscuitto and arugula.  This was a great pizza!  And then it was still good for breakfast this morning heated up with a poached egg on top!  Lidia has several good Italian cookbooks out, a PBS television show, and a new grocery store in NYC called Eataly NYC.  Rosanna said this is an amazing store, that you can get anything and everything Italian in this store just as if you were in Italy.  When I was in Houston a year ago getting chemo, Ms. Bastianich was signing her cookbooks at my favorite Houston grocery store. I drove like a wild woman – in traffic- to get there before she left!  It was cool to meet her.  Here is a pic of my rustic margherita pizza with proscuitto and arugula.

Wishing all of you a great week!

 

15 thoughts on “01-08-12

  1. Monica Dunlap says:

    Sweet Holly
    Can you send me a pizza via UPS? And how are you health wise? -Went to Houston last week and my hemoglobin is low. It dropped from 11 to 8. Dr.V changed dosage of chemo drug and when I go to lab draw this Thur. hopefully hemoglobin will be going up. Take care and please let me know how you asst doing. Love you! Monica

    • hollyeasley says:

      Hi Monica, I was surprized about your hemoglobin…did you get red blood? I hope you are feeling better. I know how it feels to have a hemoglobin count of 8.0! Not too lovely! I’ve been intending to call you, I will call you soon to check on you. Started Vidaza today so I’m not quite up to par, but not too bad either! Still fighting GVHD, darn it! Take care of yourself! Love ya!

  2. Anonymous says:

    you look great Holly, can’t wait to see you this time, I have not seen you in so long. That pizza looked wonderful and those baby’s you are holding are so cute. Your Dad is estatic about you coming. Tell Wade hello and look forward to see him when he comes. Love you

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hi Holly,
    I’m sorry I was too slow to comment the last time but I’m with you~”I’m gonna’ fake it till I make it, too”! You are constantly in my prayers but have been especially since your last note. I would be happy to drive you to appointments if you want or need me too. You’re so special and I pray you will be over this “bump” in the road soon!! (I’m just faking having a job when I don’t …..no big deal at all, esp. in comparsion)!

    Your grandchildren and I know you love thm a lot!! And, the pizza looks really good! Please let me know if I can help. I would love too. And, if not now, maybe later, OK?
    Love you lots! Monte

    • hollyeasley says:

      Monte, It is so good to hear from you! And I will definitely take you up on driving me if I need you….well we could ride together anyway and just hang out together! I would love that! I will act “well”, and you can act “employed”, and we will have a fabulous time! Love you!

  4. Monte says:

    Hi Holly,
    I’m sorry I didn’t get to post after your last message. You don’t really have to “fake it”~ you are a strong fighter- no faking that!! Your pictures of you and the grandchildren are so good and that pizza looks wonderful!!

    I want to offer my services (yes, I apologize for being so late in doing so!) but I would love to do anything you need me to do….and if not now, then when you do need something please let me know.

    You and your family are always in my prayers.
    Love you lots!! Monte

    • Monte says:

      Sorry!!! When I looked to see if the first comment was on there it didn’t show up so I thought I had messed up and it didn’t get posted!! So, Now, you have something to laugh about!!

      Love you!!

  5. Linda Block says:

    Oh, that pizza looks good. I made homemade pizza last night also, yours looks better. Great pictures of you and your babies. Don’t you just love them…..Keeping you in my prayers. Sending hugs and loves…

  6. ROSIE says:

    i love it. it reminds me of julie and julia. blogging about cooking. i can count on you to put a smile on my face!!!! oh how little harley belle has grown. logan looks at her pic and says he misses his little friend. have a marvelous day. bonapetite.

    • hollyeasley says:

      I loved that movie! And I especially love watching the old episodes of Julia Childs on television. Several years ago I got her accent and voice down pretty good and did a few impersonations of her…LOL!
      We should get those 2 kids together one of these days. That would be fun! We will plan something soon!

  7. Becky Scurlock says:

    Holly, you look so cute in your pictures with your adorable grand kids! Don’t know if I told you that I became a grandmother last month. Cooper Stewart Scurlock, born on Dec. 12., has surely stolen my heart. Now I see what all of you experienced grandparents have been saying! We are visiting him and his parents in Salt Lake this week.
    I remain inspired by your indomitable spirit and continue to pray all good things for you friend. Hugs to you and Wade,
    Becky

    • hollyeasley says:

      Thank you Becky! It is so good to hear from you! And I am so excited for you and Steve becoming grandparents! Congratulations! It is the most amazing, awesome experience. And you are right…it really makes you totally understand why grandparents can act so silly about their grandchildren! Have a great time in Salt Lake, and email me some pics! Thanks for the prayers!
      Big Love, Holly

  8. Mama Glo says:

    Yum! The pizza looks great, and cute pictures of everybody!

Leave a Reply

