01-03-12

Hope all of you had a great New Year’s weekend!  I intended to blog a Happy New Year to everyone, but didn’t get it done!  I hope you all have a happy, prosperous, full of good surprises kind of a year!  I am sure that 2012 is going to be a much better year for me!  I am not making any “resolutions” because I always seem to lose interest eventually and break my resolutions.  So this year I have a few things on my mind that I am going to work on, hoping to be more successful than in years passed!

Today’s Doctor appointment made me realize that I need to hook back up with my “I’m going to fake it til I make it” motto…..I have Graft vs Host Disease showing up again.  This is more of a problem when you have an unrelated donor.  This time in my gum tissue (wouldn’t you know it since I’m a dental hygienist!), and GI tract, which Dr. Ravipati said is GVHD.   I have also developed mild acne, painful lips, and very sensitive teeth which she says is not GVHD.  I have appointments in Houston at MD Anderson on Feb. 1st for a bone marrow biopsy, an appointment in Internal Medicine (I don’t know what they are doing here), and an appointment with Dr. Hosing.  All next week I will be taking another round of chemo.  On a lighter note, my hair has grown alot!  It’s probably 1/2 to 3/4 inch long, curly, 2 or 3 different colors, and feels very soft and fuzzy.  Some of it sticks straight up!  Everybody wants to touch it and see what it feels like!

Here is my thought for today:  Even in times of complicated or difficult events in our lives, we must always look for the good things and be grateful!

 

 

14 thoughts on “01-03-12

  1. Linda Block says:

    Oh, you sweet girl. I am so sorry that you are having to go thru so much more of this. Know that you are in my prayers each day. So praying that 2012 will bring you much better health. I love you…

  2. Sheila Green says:

    Holly, I will pray that you continue to win in your “fake it til you make it” battle with GVH! On a lighter note, after I shaved all my hair off, and it had grown back in enough for me to be comfortable taking the wig off, (about 1/2 to 3/4 inch long), I started using some of that BedHead hair product. Made it kind of spikey, and I loved it SOO much, I kept it that short for nearly three years. You are beautiful any way you do it…love you! Sheila

    • hollyeasley says:

      Thank you Sheila! I’m really loving the low maintenance part! The wigs have been bothering lately since the GVHD is worse….itchy! No products needed here…it is naturally spikey and curly! Definitely different from the way it used to be!

  3. Monica Dunlap says:

    Sweet Holly.
    Praying for you and asking for total healing and peace that only GOD can give. On our way to MDA. I love you sweet girl!!
    Monica

  4. Anonymous says:

    Holly…it sucks that you are having the host vs. graft disease again. I’m sorry. However, this disease just doesnt’ know the person it’s irritating…you will kick butt, I just know it!

    We enjoyed our Christmas, but like all folks, we are tired and ready for routine again. Here’s hoping that 2012 will be a much happier, healthier, better, wetter (for farmers) year for everyone! God bless you.
    Love, Becky R.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Dwayne says he thinks you somehow got his hair, maybe not the color but the length, fell, and especially the part about sticking straight up!! 🙂

  6. Mindy Graham says:

    Oh my Dear Holly! I hate to hear you have been fighting with your enemy again!!! Girl you have been so positive and been through so much. You are such a tough fighter. I pray the enemy gives up in 2012 and leaves you alone. I just believe you are in the right here and taking all the punishment for the enemy. This reminds me of a very familiar story about my dear friend Jesus fighting for us. You know we don’t deserve anything we get and he just keeps forgiving us time and time again. You keep your chin up and keep fighting! You have been such a “good” sick person the past few years (or atleast reflect it in your blog), I think the best thing to do at this point is lift you up in prayer and let my dear friend Jesus carry you through this battle:-) Love you!!! Mindy

  7. Jeff Williams says:

    Just dropped in to check on you, dear.

Leave a Reply

