12-23-11

Well, yesterday’s cooking was a total flop for me!  I tried to make my Mom’s Perfect Divinity….mine was far from perfect!  Hers was always unbelievably light and fluffy and delicious!  I have never been able to make divinity successfully!  So I am moving on!  Today’s recipe is in honor of my Italian friend, Rosanna who is from Catania, Sicily.    She has taught me all about REAL Italian food.  And when she cooks a meal for you, it is absolutely amazing!  I’ve had real Italian espresso (not the Starbucks variety), Parmesan, pasta, cookies and candy that she shipped to me from Italy.  Since I married into this family, the girl’s most favorite food and most requested is ravioli with “Pink Sauce” that Rosanna taught me how to make.  So here’s to you Rosanna!  I love you!  By the way she has a great blog:  rap55.wordpress.com.

Paglia e fieno ghiotta (hay and straw with cream, ham, and mushrooms)

Put some olive oil (2 tablespoons or so), and butter (2 tablespoons or so) in a skillet.  Saute 1 box of fresh mshrooms, sliced, until mushrooms have released their liquid and then saute until liquid is gone. Add 2 large garlic cloves minced, 6 oz. or so of diced ham, I sometimes throw in some frozen green peas and saute for a few seconds.  Add  3/4 to 1 cup of heavy cream and salt and pepper.    Cook long enough for cream to thicken slightly.  Meanwhile cook 1/2 pound spinach fettuccine and 1/2 pound regular yellow fettuccine noodles (the hay and straw part!) until al dente, which means firm to the bite.  Drain well.  Return to pot and toss with some butter and olive oil.  Then add the mushroom sauce , mixing well.  Add 1/2 cup of grated fresh parmesan cheese, toss some more and serve.  YUMMY!

Rosanna and me near Washington DC almost 2 years ago.

 

 

One thought on “12-23-11

  1. Monica Dunlap says:

    You are quite the cook!! So pleased to hear you are cooking. Have a Blessed and Merry Christmas!!! Love you, Monica

Leave a Reply

