12-19-11

Cheers Everyone!

Things are going pretty good at the Easley’s…..I went to Amarillo every day last week for my chemo, and I’m doing pretty good with it.  Just loss of appetite and tiredness, but nothing unmanageable.  The leg is much better, still somewhat swollen, but the pain is gone unless I over-do.  I really have nothing to complain about!  Yippee!  I am starting my Christmas cooking and have been thinking about the people who inspire(d) me, so I decided to honor each one and post their recipe.  I should have thought of this earlier but I was too caught up with the trips to Amarillo last week for chemo.  Otherwise I would have done the “Foodies Twelve Days of Christmas Cooking”!

Today I made my Mom’s fudge, which she happened to get the recipe from my Grandmother.  Those of you who know these ladies know what awesome cooks they were.  And they taught us the love of good food and cooking.  My Grandmother taught me a lot about cooking outdoors like cooking beans all day in a hole in the ground; and dutch oven, buddy burner, and hobo cooking. She made the most beautiful decorated Christmas cookies…they were little works of art!   My Mom was more of the gourmet cook…really ahead of her time as far as food trends go.  She was a perfectionist and her food was always delicious and fresh.  Her coconut meringue pie is to die for!  Here is the fudge recipe:

Mother’s Fudge

4 1/2 c. sugar

1 large can evaporated milk

Mix and bring to a rolling boil and boil 8 minutes, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat.

Add:

3 (6 oz) pkgs chocolate chips – semi-sweet, milk, or a combination depending on how dark you like it.  I used half milk and half semi-sweet.

1 (10 oz) pkg miniature marshmellows

1/2 c. butter

Mix quickly and only until melted.

Add:

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 c. chopped pecans

Spread in a 9×13 ungreased pan.  Let cool and cut into squares.

 

This morning my dear friend Lue from Dimmitt came over for a visit and I loved getting to see her!  She braved the weather and drove over.  I am mad at myself for not thinking to get a picture to post!  Anyway, it was a special treat!

Until next time!

Holly

 

 

4 thoughts on “12-19-11

  1. Monica Dunlap says:

    Sweet Holly,
    You sound like things are on the uphill swing. Praise GOD! Maybe w can get together after the holidays. Have a very Merry Christmas!
    GOD’ Blessings,
    Monica

  2. Louis says:

    Holly. I can vouch your Mother & Grandmother were excellent cooks and I can add you to that list.
    We Love You Daddy

Leave a Reply

