10-30-11

My new motto:   I’M GOING TO FAKE IT TIL I MAKE IT !  Here’s why….there is so much more positive energy and jive in wellness rather than the funky feeling of not being well.  As I have said before, gotta keep moving forward!  I did look back (at my pill journal, that is) just to get a feel for how much I have improved.  Here’s the stats:  during the middle of September I was taking 48 pills a day.  This was when the BK virus was at its worst.  Today I will take only 18 pills.  That’s progress!  Of these 18 pills, 7 are preventive meds to keep me from getting sick.  Anti-viral, anti-bacterial, anti-fungal, and anti-pneumonia.  They have worked wonderfully…so far since I started this journey the first of May I have not been sick except for the BK virus which nothing can prevent!  These meds will be discontinued when I am no longer on steroids and I’m being weaned off of my immune suppressant drug.  Speaking of, still eating like a horse and weighing in at 89 lbs.  According to my scale I have gained a pound!  Yippee!

Got through Cycle 3 of my chemo last week.  Made the daily treks to Amarillo and Stephanie did a great of giving me those shots in my belly.  Harrington is a wonderful place with caring people!  About the only problem I’ve had is chemo-related fatigue.  No nausea since I take the nausea meds.  Nine more cycles to go!

I will be going back to Houston on Nov. 8th to see Dr. Hosing, have a bone marrow biopsy to see how my donor and I are getting along and how my chemo is progressing, and some secondary tests scheduled by my survivorship nurse.  I will have a pulmonary lung function test and bone density test.  This is because the extremely toxic chemo I took before my transplant that killed my bone marrow can cause problems elsewhere in my body.  Every time I go back I will have different tests to make sure I am OK.   And of course the immunizations since my childhood immunizations were wiped out.

Have a Happy Halloween!  Eat lots of chocolate!

And I’m going to fake it til I make it !

24 thoughts on “10-30-11

  1. Monica Dunlap says:

    Sweet Holly and Wade,
    You POSITIVE girl!!! May GOD continue to hold you HIS MIGHTY HAND!!
    GOD’s Blessing,
    Monica

    HI

  2. Lynn Nelson says:

    So good to see you yesterday! You look and act remarkably good for all that you have been through. I pray things will get easier and easier for you.

  3. Linda Block says:

    Continually thinking and praying for you, Holly. Keep up the weight gaining. I know you can do it. I will be eating lots of chocolate and you do the same. If I can help you do anything, please give me a call. Much, much love to the both of you…

  4. Glo says:

    I LOVE your new “motto”!!! 🙂

  5. Gay says:

    You will make it!

    Love, Gay

  6. Jeff Williams says:

    I love the new motto too!

  7. rap55 says:

    HOLLY! I totally agree with your initial statements. I drove 250 miles yesterday, all alone, just to visit a Chocolate Festival in Sicily. I dedicate the blog I will write on it to you.

    I LOVE U!

    R.

    • hollyeasley says:

      Rosanna, I have been loving your blog! I so wish I was there with you….we would have rocked that Chocolate Festival together! I can’t wait to read about it…you are so sweet to dedicate it to me!!! I miss you so much and love you!

  8. Becky Scurlock says:

    Hey Holly,

    Maybe you could take your tiny little self and dress up for trick or treating tonight. That way you could take advantage of your “youthful looking” physique and get lots and lots of chocolate! 🙂 I know that if you knocked on my door I would gladly empty out the candy bowl for you!
    Praying that you would continue to get better and better my friend.
    Hugs to you and Wade,
    Becky

    • hollyeasley says:

      Hi Becky, I so wish I could come trick or treating at your house tonight….I would be a natural as a skinny, wrinkled up alien with a fuzzy head! LOL!!! I was so disappointed that I didn’t get to make the bank meeting with Wade in S.A. and hang out with you! Darn it! I would love to see you! Next time for sure!
      Love and Hugs, Holly

  9. Camille says:

    Holly,
    I am so proud of you. You are such an inspiration. I pray for you several times a day. Love your new motto. Love you and Wade, Camille

  10. Anonymous says:

    I fully believe in that motto. It was one I drilled into the drill team here when I was their sponsor for 11 years, applied mostly to the smile I expected to see on their faces each and every day at practice; that and “perfect practice makes perfect.” Anyway, it all goes together and eventually it will not just be make believe, it will be true! Praying for you always!! Love, Mikie

    • hollyeasley says:

      Mikie, I love this comment! It made me smile thinking about your drill team! Odds are good that those girls are still positively influenced by you! Hope things are great with you and Dwayne and your family. Let me know next time you come to Friona…I would love to come see you! Love you, Holly

  11. Dina says:

    holly. you are such an inspiration! we love you! (i read these to my mom when i get them so thats why i say we lol) hope ya’ll had a great halloween! 🙂

  12. Love your new motto…. I’ve been uttering that myself lately! lol… You sound fantastic, and I’m so proud of you! Still praying for you and hoping God continues to bless you BIG!

    Love you,
    Julie

Leave a Reply

