09-01-11 Day +100

This is Day 100…that magical milestone that I thought would mean I am at home!  But somebody’s got to be in the group over 100 days to make the average come out right!  I guess I am amongst the “lucky” ones!  I know several of you are wondering what is going on with me since I was supposed to go home last Friday and then when that didn’t work out, on Monday.  And I haven’t posted any information!  I just kind of felt over-loaded!  Here is the scoop:  The BK Virus has kicked my butt!  It is cruel, mean, brutal, and vicious!  And to make matters worse, since it is viral, there isn’t a whole lot you can do for it except to let it run it’s course (4 to 8 weeks).  There is only one drug that sometimes helps, Cidofovir.  Dr. Hosing started me on the Cidofovir yesterday.  It is a one hour infusion 3 times a week.  We should know pretty soon if it is working or not.  Meanwhile, I am on lots of drugs to manage the pain and symptoms.  I have graduated from a journal to keep track of my meds, to a dry erase board!  It is mind boggling to keep up with! The good news is that I came out of the week of chemo in good shape.  It has affected my appetite and lowered my blood counts somewhat, but I have only had to receive platelets.  Everything is good there. Yay!  My team is working so hard at trying to get me home!  They have been so supportive and kind.

Last weekend Wade and I tried a new place to eat downtown, and when we walked out the door there was the coolest little cream puff parked in front.  Since I have posted the Flower Power VW van and the Weiner Mobile, I decided to post this little 280 Z.  Notice the Michigan plates and The University of Oklahoma decal!

 

7 thoughts on “09-01-11 Day +100

  1. Anonymous says:

    I was so wondering about you. All I can say is, lets get all the bugs and virsus out and away with and when you come home, you won’t have to worry with it. So sorry for the delay. Hang in there…

  2. Lynn Nelson says:

    At one time I had a 280 Z just like the one in the picture…color the same too! I heard that whoever we sold it to wrecked it in Houston so it is not the same one. Sorry you didn’t get to come home yet but the time for coming home is getting closer!

  3. Steve Easley says:

    It sounds like not much fun, but you can handle this too. Get it all over with at once and then when you get home it will be smooth. We are pulling for you, so just keep on going and get it over. We love you,

    Steve and Mary

  4. Anonymous says:

    Holly, I’m so sorry that your didn’t get to travel home as you had hoped. You are such a brave lady to handle another setback with such positive thoughts. I just know that it won’t be too long before you are back in Hereford enjoying a big ol’ steak that Wade cooks on the grill. That will be better than anything you can imagine in any fancy eatery! I am thinking of you and asking God to watch over you.
    Talked to your Dad yesterday and I was glad to hear his voice. He sounded well.
    Hang in there, Holly. I am thinking of you! Love, Becky R.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Can’t wait to see you tomorrow. Praying for you so HARD. Hang in there and keep your eyes on GOD because He cares for you!
    GOD’s Blessings,
    Monica

  6. rap55 says:

    Hello Darling!!!!!!!!!! Warmest wishes and love from me to you!!!!!!!

  7. Hi Miss Holly! You’ve been on my mind and in my prayers this week! Remember – you still ARE one of the lucky ones… and you’ll be glad you have all of that out of the way when you DO arrive back! Best of all, you are a SURVIVOR!!! Lots of celebrating for you and your healing!
    Love and hugs!
    Julie

Leave a Reply

