08-26-11 Day +94

I have had a great week…lots of fun with my girlfriends!  Brenda arrived shortly after Kimmie left, and we had so much fun shopping, eating, laughing, and just hanging out!  As I said earlier, what a great way to end my stay here!  Wade is here now, and our weekend project is to figure out how to get all of our stuff packed in my vehicle.  I will see Dr. Hosing on Monday and she will decide if I am ready to be released.  I  have a new “issue” going on…BK Virus.  This is a virus that in its primary form is asymptomatic or a mild respiratory infection.  The virus then disseminates to the kidneys and urinary tract where it stays for the life of the individual.  About 80% of people have this latent form of the virus.  It remains latent until the body undergoes some type of immunosuppression.  It happens primarily to transplant patients.  The steroids and the immunosuppressant I take for Graft vs Host disease are what brought it on according to Dr. Hosing.  There are no drugs to treat it, it just has to run its course, which can be a few weeks to 2 months.   My team is working hard on managing my symptoms. I am on continuous IV fluids (24/7) to try to flush the virus out of my system.  I carry a tote bag with me everywhere with the IV bag and pump in it.  My major symptom is pain.  Kidney and urinary tract pain is absolutely brutal!  In fact, this morning Wade almost took me to the ER….the pain meds I was on had worn off before the next dose was due.  They have upped my pain meds to oxycontin and dilaudid which will be much better.  If I can prove I can manage my symptoms over the weekend, I think Dr. Hosing will release me on Monday.  If not, then I will be here another week.   Keep your fingers crossed!  On Monday, it will be day +98, only 2 days shy of that magic Day 100.  Meanwhile I’m not looking down, I am focused on home!

Here are some fun facts:

I just reviewed my medications list with my Pharmacy Dr. and started counting….22 different meds each day.  Quick, grab me an oversized pill container!

American Idol auditions are going on right now at Reliant Stadium, about 3 blocks from our apartment.  There are 8000 contestants trying out!

Houston is the fourth most populous city in the nation.  Wade says there is only one place hotter than Houston and that is…..hell!

“Houston” was the first word spoken on the moon.

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Brenda and me….fun times!

10 thoughts on “08-26-11 Day +94

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi Holly! I wish I had known about your blog early on–I plan on reading backwards and follow your journey from going home back to your journey to Houston! What a trooper you are! So beautiful, talented and a genuine love of life. Looking forward to reading on Monday that you are homeward bound–or shortly thereafter! Take care…my prayers and good wishes are there with you and Wade! God bless you both! Jyl

  2. Anonymous says:

    Sweet Holly and Wade,
    You’ll hopefully be going home Monday, so keep us posted. How in the world do you keep up with 22 meds??? How smart are the Dr.s that figure out which meds can be taken together etc… How is your Graft vs Host disease? What is it’s life span? Holly, you continue to be such a positive inspiration to me!!! Again, I want to be just like you when I grow up. Seriously, you are my role model when I think about how I want to handle my disease. We fly in Thurs. at 3:30 so hopefully I’ll have my appointment of lab and Dr. V and be headed back home Friday night. So, much praying for you to be released Monday!! Let me know!
    GOD’s Blessings,
    Monica

  3. Anonymous says:

    Two beautiful ladies. Praying for release on Monday…..

  4. dina says:

    aw holly you look beautiful! im keeping all my fingers and toes crossed for you to come home! 🙂

  5. Gay says:

    My fingers are crossed! I so hope you get to go home. I know you are so wanting to. Prayers are for this to happen.

    Love, Gay

  6. Anonymous says:

    God is good!!! Monday you will get a good report and Homeward Bound you will be. Love you!!!

  7. Vandra says:

    I am the anonymous today. HA!!!HA!!!

  8. Anonymous says:

    I hope today way the day!!!!! XOXO Jacklyn

  9. Mikie says:

    still praying! You look GREAT! Love you, M & D

  10. Julie B says:

    Thinking of you today and sending lots of love and hugs as you inch closer to magic 100!!!!

Leave a Reply

