Thursday July 28 Day +65

Well, I got up this morning and looked in the mirror and half of my left eyebrow is GONE (!) and so I looked a little closer and noticed a lot of eyelashes have also given it up.  That was not fun!  I was hoping they would hang in there!

Today at my appointment with my team I learned that the biopsy taken during my endoscopy is mild Graft Verses Host Disease (GVHD).  The symptoms are nausea and vomiting, which I’ve had a lot of lately.  So I am now on the standard therapeutic steroid treatment since I also have the rejection disease on my skin.  They are also doubling up my anti-rejection drug dosage.  And I will start going to physical therapy at MDA to prevent muscle loss during the steroid treatment.  Before I can get started with that, I have to exercise with the rubber band things at home to build my strength up a little bit.  Other than that the steroids are making me feel good and my appetite is so much better.  Yay!  Tomorrow I will have a pulmonary function test to check my lungs.  The chemo I was on for the transplant sometimes causes damage to lung tissue.  This test is standard for everyone about 2 months out from the transplant.  I’m not expecting there to be a problem.  They will compare the results with the baseline test I had a week before my hospital admission.

Have a great evening!

5 thoughts on “Thursday July 28 Day +65

  1. Mikie says:

    Prayers flying on your behalf daily. Hug each other for us. Love, Mikie & Dwayne

  2. Anonymous says:

    Sweet Holly and Wade,
    Your knowledge about all the things involved in your transplant is unbeliveable. Praying for GVH to go away, lungs to be clear and all other possible symptons to not effect your overall health. I appreciate so much you shaing your health status and details about each condition! I’ll be in Houston Sept. 1st for my appointment at MDAnderson. Will you still be there? If so, maybe we can get together and possibly go to dinner. I’d love to see you and your smiling face. My appointment is Sept. 2nd and we will fly out that night or early Sept. 3rd. I’ll call you closer to my appointment time. As always, I’m lifting you up in prayer and asking GOD for total healing. Stay strong!!
    GOD’s Blessings,
    Monica

  3. ROSIE says:

    i cant even grasp what u go through on a daily basis. we(women in general) get upset when we have a bad hair day. you are such an inspiration!!!! i hope you know that. you are such a strong woman. jake and i talk about you on a daily basis. just to let you know we are always thinking of you. have a wonderful weekend. this is the end of our month with logan, we are very sad about that. hope to see you soon. rosie

  4. Gay says:

    How did your pulmonary function test go? I hope you & Wade are having a good week-end!

  5. rap55 says:

    Holly Holly,

    Hang in there!!!! Thinking of you and sending my love your way across the ocean!

    Rosanna

Leave a Reply

