Thursday July 21 Day +58

Hi Everybody!  This week has been a very busy week at the hospital.  I’ve had a few hiccups so Jan, (my sister who is spending the week with me) and I have spent quite a bit of time at MDA.  It started with Monday’s regular treatment, a dressing change that revealed wounds under my bandage adhesive covering my central line, central line was clotted and had to be worked on, and the new chemo, Vidaza, was started.  Since my lines were clotted, I had to give all the blood for the Vidaza study and my regular bloodwork in both arms.  The chemo injection turns out to be given in 2 injections since it is so thick.  I felt like a pin cushion!  Tuesday my bandage filled up with fluid from my surrounding lymph nodes and we made a visit to the hospital that night.  Wednesday the lab couldn’t access my lines again to get blood drawn so it was another stick, atually 2 sticks, to get it drawn.  This was the third day of chemo and I was really feeling the side effects. Plus, I have some sort of stomach pain and total loss of appetite.  As of today I have lost 28 pounds.  I am scheduled for an endoscopy with biopsy next Tuesday unless it resolves before then.  Graft VS Host Disease happens on the skin, and also in the stomach.  The biopsy will tell us if it is GVHD.  It was back to Infusion Therapy to get declogged again, but amazingly the silly thing worked and gave blood return.  Yay!  Today I had my regular visit with my team and they feel like my rash has hung around long enough to do a punch biopsy on my stomach.  It wasn’t bad at all, a little shot to numb, then a punch removed a perfect piece of tissue, then a suture.  Two more Vidaza shots today.  The Vidaza shots make the injection site very sore and red, so the backs of both arms and 4 spots on my belly are very sore.  Plus the biopsy sight!  I’m a mess!  Everything is good though, today I felt better, not as much nausea (I’m on nausea medicine 24/7), or tiredness, and lack of energy.  Jan and I managed to do some fun things, and it has been great spending time with her!

Before Jan got here, Kelli spent one night with me on Thursday.  I’m posting a picture of us at Escalante’s eating dinner.  It was a fun evening.  The next day we did a little shopping and hung out.  Fun times!

On Friday night Hayes and Harley got here from a vacation in San Antonio!  They stayed until Sunday morning.  It was a special treat!  Harley and I played paper dolls and we all three just hung out together and did a little bit of shopping.  It was wonderful!  I was so sad to see them go (lots of tears!)  Oh how homesick I am! I miss my grandkids so very much!  Can’t wait to go home.

Jan will leave in the morning, and Wade will get here right after lunch.  Tomorrow is our 7th anniversary!  Patti and Richard, my nurse and our good friends, invited us out for dinner because it is also their anniversary tomorrow.  My appetite and nausea are so bad we decided to postpone until it improves.  Disappointing!   I’m ready to see my honey tomorrow!

Hope you all have a great weekend!

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                Kelli and me at Escalante’s

                                                                                                                                                                                                             Harley with my wig on!

                                                                                                                                                                                                       Harley, Mimi, and Hayes.   Already miss them!

                                                                                                                                                                                                                Me and my sister, Jan

9 thoughts on “Thursday July 21 Day +58

  1. Lynn Nelson says:

    Sorry you’re getting punched so many times. I always hate to have to do so many sticks at a time and I KNOW the recipient doesn’t like it either!

  2. Monte says:

    Holly,

    You are the most positive person I have ever known!! What was that you said?”This week has been a very busy week at the hospital” !? That was the understatement of the year!! I know how it feels to get stuck a lot and to have to stick someone more than once but I’d say they were really lucky you didn’t throw them out to find someone who could actually do it and be done!!! Good thing I’m not there to protect you cause I might get a little loud!! But, really probably not. I love you!
    Harley and Hayes look really good as do you and Jan and Kelli….thanks for the pictures! It is so good others can come and stay with you but know you will be glad to see Wade tomorrow

  3. Monte says:

    This was acting up and I didn’t know if it would publish that or not, but it did.

    Just wanted to say “Keep going” and my prayers are with you day and night!! Give Wade a hug for me.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Hey Holly,
    Sorry to hear about all the sticks “OUCH” your little body is really taken a beating has’nt it. But as we all know you are very strong and strong willed and it’s gonna be ok. Your little granddaughter is adorable. I must say you really looked like Mamie with that hat on. Girl you keep doing good and we are keeping up the prayers for you as well as your family. We love you and can’t wait to see you and Wade. Tell jan to be careful driving home. love pat

  5. Peggy Stowers says:

    Hi Holly and Jan!! It is so good to see the picture of you! You both look great. Holly – I love reading your blog. Don’t know how you do it, but I’m glad you do. Praying that all turns out best for you. Jan, can’t wait to talk to you again. Travel safe going home. Please tell your Mom & Dad hello from Jackie and me.
    Love you both,
    -ps

  6. Anonymous says:

    Holly,
    I have been following your blog because my Mom is here at MD Anderson with AML. I think I might have possibly seen you in the Cafe 24/7 Thursday afternoon. Were you possibly there eating? After seeing your picture, I think it might have been you with your sister. Did you have on a hat and were you sitting in a wheelchair?

    Sharon Gartrell

    • hollyeasley says:

      Hi Sharon,
      I sent you an email yesterday, and decided it may have gone to your spam account! I am not commuting…we live 650 miles from here! Will be at the hospital in the morning, I’m about to email you again with my phone number.
      Holly Easley

  7. Anonymous says:

    Darn it Holly! I just hate it that you are having all these nasty problems! HAPPY ANNIVERSARY anyway, and hopefully you will feel like celebrating before Wade leaves. We’re so proud to have you as a daughter-in-law! Hang in there and I’ll see you soon. Love, Glo

  8. Mama Glo says:

    Holy, I don’t know if my first coment went through or not, so am resending it. I hate that you are having all these problems! HAPPY ANNIVERSARY and hopefully you will feel like celebrating before Wade goes home. We are so lucky to have you for a daughter-in-law!! Hang in there and I’ll see you soon Love, Glo

Leave a Reply

