Wednesday 06-22-11 Day +29

It’s so hard for me to believe it has been almost a month since my transplant!  WooHoo!  Things are going very well right now.  Basically I go to the hospital for magnesium IV treatments and to see my team, and then take magnesium IV treatments at home on my days off.  And here is some great news….Blaire is here this week!  I have loved getting to spend time with her, and she has been wonderful helping me this week with my appointments!  For instance, yesterday I had a follow-up appointment with the Ophthalmologist at MDA and we waited for 3 HOURS before I got in!  Then it was another hour and a half back in the treatment rooms.  Oh my…it was ridiculous!  We did not leave the hospital until 6:30 last night!  Exhausted!  Anyway, I did get good news from Dr. Kim at that appointment.  All of the blind spots caused by tacrolimus have almost resolved.  She showed me the before and after printout and it was amazing how bad it was!  Now there were only 2 or 3 spots on each eye and she said they would resolve too.  I was so happy to hear this!  She said that it can cause complete blindness.

Today I had a bone marrow biopsy bright and early with my good friend Patti who takes care of me there.  This test will help the Dr. to know how my donor’s immune system is getting along with me.  Hopefully at the end of my 100 days after transplant, my immune system will be 100% of my donor.  Right now I am still in there with some residual diseased cells and his immune system will go ahead and fight those and get rid of them.  This is pretty intriguing to me!  I won’t get the full report for 2 weeks.

Another good thing, Dr. Hosing took me off one of my meds to prevent graft vs host disease.  I was taking 12 of these pills a day!  I have to keep a journal to keep track of all my pill taking!

Blaire and I did a little shopping this afternoon for Charlie.  He will be 5 in a few days!  I can’t believe it!  I miss my Grandkids SOOOO much!  In fact, I miss everybody!  When I really think about it, I know I don’t feel well enough to go home, but it’s a good thought anyway!  So I’m closing on that thought!  Night-night!

8 thoughts on “Wednesday 06-22-11 Day +29

  1. monicadunlap says:

    Sweet Holly and Wade,
    WOW, you sound so good!! Thank you GOD!! Your eye report is awesome. What a scary thought, total blindness. So, very happy your eyes will be ok. Your body being changed to your donar’s immune system is a miracle in itself and what an amazing thing a transplant really is. So, relieved that your pills for Graft vs. Host disease is being cut back, what a wonderful report this is too! I’m so happy you and Blaire are getting to spend time together. What wonderful medicine she is for your soul. I was surprised you had the energy to go shopping. Holly, I pray you’ve made it over the hardest part of your transplant. Keep your positive attitude and your great smile! You are touching so many people! I thank GOD every day that HE is healing you! What an incredible blessing you are to me!!
    GOD’s Blessings,
    Monica

  2. Lue says:

    KEEP ALL THOSE GOOD REPORTS COMING. WE LOVE ‘EM. SO GLAD FOR YOU GIRL. WILL KEEP THE PRAYERS COMING YOUR WAY.
    LOVE YOU
    HAROLD AND LUE

  3. Anonymous says:

    You are one AMAZING lady! Your very positive attitude & good nature is wonderful to read……….keep up the great work and you will be heading home before you know it!

    Susan Hall (part of the Bryant family)

  4. Anonymous says:

    Holly,
    It was good to have another Blog with good news. I saw Wade at the Fun Breakfast this morning. I’m glad he got to come home, but know it was hard for him to leave you there. You are still in our prayers.
    Denise

  5. Joyce Wells says:

    Holly and Blair,
    So happy you two are together, so glad to hear all the good news!
    Prayers,Hugs & Kisses headed you girls way.
    Love you so much, Joyce

  6. ROSIE says:

    hello miss holly, just had you on my mind today. glad you blogged. i am glad that you have blaire with you. we pray everyday will be better for you. you, my dear have come a long way. happy day to you.cant wait to see your smiling face. rosie jake and logan, too.

  7. Anonymous says:

    HEY, HOLLY, SO GLAD TO HEAR ALL THE GOOD NEWS, WE NEVER TURN THAT DOWN. YOU KEEP IMPROVING AND BEFORE YOU KNOW IT WILL BE HOME WITH ALL THE GRANDS AND THE FAMILY. I BET THEY MISS YOU ALSO. YOUR MOM AND DAD ARE DOING GREAT, THEY GOT MY COUSIN AS THEIR OTHER CARETAKER, SO WE WILL SEE HOW THAT WORKS OUT. NEXT WEEK I WILL BE HERE AN EXTRA 5 DAYS, SHE’S ON VAC.
    BUT ANYWAY SO MUCH OF US, IT’S ALL ABOUT YOU NOW. LOVE YA TAKE CARE.

  8. Monte says:

    I’m so glad you had Blaire there with youfor a while. You sound like you are doing wo well!! I do love those good reports and your equally good attitude! You are hanging in there like a real tooper and I’m so happy for you and proud of you!!
    Of course, you are still in my prayers, as is your whole family. Keep taking care of you!! 🙂 Love you, Monte

Leave a Reply

