Day 0 – Transplant Day

We started out the morning having all three lumens out of my central line declotted.  Especially the yellow one where the stem cells would enter.  And then we got the news that the transplant would be at 12:30 pm!!!! It was very exciting news!!  At noon they started premedicating me with Steroids and Benedryl.  Then Dr. Jones brought the Stem Cells into my room and held them up so I could see them and take a picture.  Inside the bag it looked like watered down blood.  The nurse started the IV and it was non-stop vitals during the entire transfusion.   She told us to look real close at the tubing and we could see the little flecks of stem cells moving through the tubing.  It was amazing that you could actually see them!  The infusion lasted about an hour and a half.  The side effects started a few minutes into the infusion…headache, body aches, fever, chills, and nausea.  So they gave me lots of medicine to combat those.  While I was napping Wade went out and bought me a little piece of birthday cake with a “0” candle and a very sweet birthday card!  There have been so many wonderful, kind, sweet, amazing, prayerful, thoughtful acts of kindness shown to us!  And your comments have been my strength and confidence!  My gratefulness and thankfulness are beyond words!  Wade took a picture of me with my cake and candle, but when I saw myself I quickly deleted it!  LOL!!  So here is a picture of the stem cells.  I will blog more tomorrow!

9 thoughts on “Day 0 – Transplant Day

  1. Blaire says:

    Mom – your strength inspires me more than you will ever know! I am so proud of your unending courage. You are amazing and you are MY mom! I love you forever – Your Baby B.

  2. Tim says:

    Holly and Wade, I just wanted to say a quiet hello and send my prayerful support. God Bless, Tim H.

  3. Becky Scurlock says:

    Yay! So excited for you both. The picture just made me think of an infusion of a new and healthy life and that is what I am praying for you sweet Holly. God’s blessings on you guys and also on your donor!
    Becky

  4. Sweet Holly and Wade,
    Happy Birthday to YOU!!! And may you live a wonderful and strong long life! How touching that Wade bought you a birthday cake. He is some kind of guy and his acts of love amaze me. I thank GOD that Wade is by your side. Continuing to pray for no pain, no fear and total and complete healing. Holly, your spirit and attitude are amazing. I want to be just like you when I grow up. You are truly a role model and inspiration!! Praying for you RIGHT NOW!!!
    GOD’s Blessings,
    Monica
    PS: My little precious granddaughter was born yesterday, May 23rd, 7lbs. 7″, 21 ” long. Her name is Eleanor Elizabeth Moss, “Ellie Beth”. A blessing and true miracle from GOD! GOD IS GOOD!!!

  5. Anonymous says:

    I don’t know if you got my comment yesterday or not. I got an error sign when I sent it. Anyway, HAPPY “new” BIRTHDAY! And we REALLY, REALLY hope that you start feeling better SOON!

    Love,
    Pappy & Mama Glo

  6. LUE GRIFFITH says:

    Wade and Holly,
    We’ve been praying for you and hope you feel better soon. Your courage is amazing and we are with you all the way. BOTH of you get your rest and take care. We love you dearly.
    Harold and Lue

  7. Becky Riethmayer says:

    It’s looking at a miracle to see the picture w/the stem cells. How awesome! So glad this process is underway for you. You are a brave lady with such an inspiring attitude. God bless you with a great day today! Love Becky

  8. Mindy Graham says:

    How exciting!!! Holly you will have to keep this blog going so you can later show the remarkable 19 year old donor what a difference he made. The thought of such a generous contribution is just unbelievable!

    I know you still probably don’t feel well today, but it is so encouraging to know you felt well enough to post on the blog. Don’t worry about not posting a picture of yourself. I can visualize a picture of your smiling face in my mind today as you celebrate the joy of a “new” life. I ordered you the book, “Heaven is for Real” I told you about the other day. You and Wade will enjoy it.

    May you both have a blessed day!

  9. Vandra Ellis says:

    God is good!!!!! Happy Birthday Friend. You are an inspiration to us all. Love you! God’s Blessings and Prayers, Vandra

Leave a Reply

