Day -3

OK yall….it’s a little  hard to believe that I only have 3 days to go until transplant!  YIPPEE!!  Today was a much better day…yesterday was one of those bad ones.  I don’t understand why today was better because I actually had my last 2 chemos this morning and then started ATG therapy  (Antithymocyte Globulin) at 10:00.  With ATG,  which comes from a rabbitt, I have steroids and benedryl along with it because it can cause allergic reactions.  Today went well….I have walked 2 rounds, ate a sandwich from home, and played rummy with Wade!

Here are some MDA fun facts:

My ATG treatment made my room smell very strong like cookies were baking – to me only!

The lady from the Patient Advocacy Office brought me peppermints to combat the taste of “cream corn” in my mouth while taking ATG (which is what most people taste).

I should NOT turn on the Food Network TV channel, just as I SHOULD channel surf while Emeril is cooking on GMA!

No more perfumes, colognes, scented lotions….toothpaste is getting iffy.

My hair follicles are starting to feel creepy, hair will probably fall out by next week.

Here at MDA I get to order from a menu whenever I want, from 6:30 am until 10:30 pm.  Still hospital food, but it’s ok.

TV here at MDA:  In addition to the 3 Spanish channels, we have 1 Turkish channel, 2 Arabic channels, 2 Asian channels, 1 chaplaincy channel, 2 relaxation channels, and the remaining are the regular cable lineup.

Wade had to show an ID to get a visitors pass to get into the hospital this morning (weekends only).

The hospital was on emergency power all night long.  I stayed plugged into the red plugs behind my bed. Everything worked great! which is encouraging!

Please pray for big, big, blessings for my 19 year old donor who is going through all of his procedures to donate stem cells to me on Tuesday!!

4 thoughts on “Day -3

  1. Sweet Holly and Wade,
    I’m so thankful you had a better day. What an ordeal this stem cell transplant is. Thanks so much for sharing all the info so we can keep up with your treatment. Did you beat Wade at rummy? Praying for your courageous donar and that he will feel the love so many people have for him for making you well! Praying for you each day and lifting you up!
    GOD’s Blessings
    Monica

  2. Gay says:

    I am so glad you had a better day. Your strength is an inspiration. I am praying for you, Wade and the donor.

  3. Becky R. says:

    Holly & Wade: glad it’s been better the last few hours. Stay strong. Will pray for the donor too. God bless.

  4. holly says:

    GOD BLESS THE DONOR FOR HOLLY, MAY GOD CONTINUE BLESSING YOU AS WELL AS HOLLY, SHE IS VERY DEAR TO HER FAMILY AND WE ARE ALL SO THANKFUL GOD PUT PEOPLE LIKE YOU ON THIS EARTH. HOLLY YOU ARE REALLY BLESS TO HAVE WADE, I KNEW THE FIRST TIME I SAW YOU 2, THAT IT WAS A SPECIAL LOVE. IT’S VERY OBVIOUS THAT HE LOVES YOU MORE THAN LIFE. Just remember we are praying for you and Wade, my prayer is that God will encamp his angels around the two of you, and give your family back home a special peace, to help them cope with you being gone so far from home and waiting to get the healing news. Holly we love you both and you take care and get better soon.

Leave a Reply

