Sunday 05-08-11

Hi blog friends… the past week was unbelievably busy!  Trying to get ready to be gone for 4 or 5 months was unnerving! What do I need to pack that will fit in my car, and what am I forgetting?!  But the hardest part was telling everyone bye for a while.  Very emotional.  Jim and Glo (Wade’s parents) came in from Montana on Thursday.  They will be staying with Sydney and Aubrey until school is out and then take them back to Montana until Wade gets home. Then we had a big family cookout on Friday evening.  Wade cooked unbelievable delicious steaks, and it was a beautiful evening hanging out in the back yard.  Glo got a giant pinata for the GrandKids and they loved it!  It was a wonderful evening! The goodbyes were difficult for me.  Being gone until mid September sounds like a really long time!   Saturday morning we left for Tyler, where we spent the evening and today with my parents and Jan and Bill.  I loved getting to spend Mother’s Day with my Mom and Dad.   It was great!  Jan cooked a delicious lunch.  Here is a picture of Mother and Daddy.  Oh how I love them!  I miss them so very much! We arrived in Houston just in time to get checked in to The Rotary House Hotel and get my bloodwork done.  When the technician printed out my labels, it was a mile long!  They needed 16 vials.  She said, “Are you having a procedure done or something?”    She got it with one stick and I was totally thrilled!  It took so long to get that many vials that I heard several cool stories from the 2 girls that work that lab…there was a picture on the wall of a lady and her wedding dress that 7 different women wore and is now in a museum, and several pictures of a cute little boy whose mother found out she had breast cancer and was pregnant at the same time.  So she had to discontinue her treatments until he was born and she breastfed him for awhile before beginning treatment.  Now she is cancer free. Wow!  MD Anderson is full of stories like that.  Stick with me…I’m going to have one myself…19 year old…perfect match…YES!!!!!

7 thoughts on “Sunday 05-08-11

  1. Dina says:

    Geez! That is a while to be away from home but you’ll get through it Holly! Good luck and keep your head up! 🙂 tell chu chu woe I say hi and I miss ya’ll. I can’t wait to read your updates and what other interesting stories that you hear there 🙂

  2. Sweet Holly,
    I will be following your blog and praying for you each day! Stay strong and trust in the LORD.
    Love you,
    Monica

  3. Sarah wyrick says:

    Hi Holly, my name is Sarah Wyrick. I am Monica Dunlap’s daughter.. Please know we have been and will continue to be praying for you, your familanatole friends, and your care team at MD Anderson. May the peace of Christ be with you.

  4. hollyeasley says:

    Monica and Sarah,
    Thank you so much! I appreciate you both and love you!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Wow! You must have been REALLY pale after they got through draining all that blood out of you! All is well here…NO WORRIES! Love you, Pappy & Mama Glo

  6. hollyeasley says:

    I was just a little shocked! The first visit I had 4 years ago they got 25 vials! It was pretty scarey! I had signed up to donate extra blood for research, and I don’t do that anymore. The research I now donate to is any blood or tissue that is left and would go into the trash! Much better! Glad everything is going good for yall!

Leave a Reply

