Monday 11-08-10

Arrived back in Houston last night after 2 weeks off from chemo. The first week off I wasn’t really “off”…..appointment with Dr. G-M on Tuesday, then a bone marrow biopsy on Thursday. Blaire flew in to help me with the biopsy and to get me back home. We had a great time together! Got back home just in time to drive to Lubbock to see The Eagles. They were absolutely amazing! I wasn’t exactly in very good shape to go, but it was totally worth it. Those guys are still incredible!

When I got home I had a package waiting for me from Bill, who is Glo’s brother. It is a beautiful handmade scripture quilt that Glo’s
sister Kitty and her friends at her church in Henderson NV made for
Bill’s wife, Shirley who had cancer and passed away several months
ago. It is a beautiful quilt and I was so touched that Bill wanted me
to have it. I am totally overwhelmed at the kindnesses that have
been shown to me and feel so blessed! I really thought I had
uploaded the picture of this quilt but I can’t find it in my library. As soon as I can, I will post a picture. This blog is sometimes very
challenging for me! Thanks so much Bill!

The second week off was chilling at home and loving it. I got to spend Halloween with my Grandkids and loved every minute of it. Got to hang with my family and grandkids quite a bit during the week, and ended it with a birthday party for Haley celebrating her 21st birthday. Wade cooked awesome steaks, and I made Paula Deen’s Grandmother’s Red Velvet Cake which was to die for! It was a great evening. Very good week off!

Back at MD Anderson in the transfusion unit about to get chemo to start Round 3. My blood levels are kind of flat, but platelets are looking great today! I had to get 6 units of platelets the last week of Round 2, so I am starting off good.

Tomorrow I see Dr. Garcia-Manero about my bone marrow biopsy results. He had rushed the results hoping to have the cytology by my appointment tomorrow. We will hopefully learn if the chemo is working and we go forward, or if it is not working and we stop. Until then, Merry Monday!

One thought on “Monday 11-08-10

  1. Anonymous says:

    Very interesting new post. I have missed hearing from you. I hope your biopsy news is good. You are loved by so many! Keep up your great attitude.

    Love,Gay

Leave a Reply

