Friday 10-01-10

Wow….I’ve made it through my first 2 weeks of treatment! This is the low-down: 7 blood draws, 10 bags of IV Zofran (anti nausea), 10 chemo IVs, 23 EKGs, 1 central venous catheter insertion, 24 heparin flushes, 2 dressing changes, 1 visit with Dr. Garcia-Manero, 6 visits with a Physician’s Assistant or Nurse Practitioner, 11 visits the research nurse, and 1 bone marrow aspiration and biopsy. Grand total before insurance: $18,637. I hate to think about how much those chemo drugs would cost if I wasn’t in an investigative trial! Thank you, thank you, thank you for my health insurance! And I have survived this madness!!!! After my week off at home we will start another round. Dr. G-M is out of town this week giving a speech somewhere so I’ll be happy to see him next week.

My blood counts are doing funny things…hemoglobin is up (!), absolute neutrophil count is up (!), and platelets are way down (which is expected).

I don’t know if I will blog much while I’m enjoying my week off at home. Here is my good thought I am taking with me. My dear friend Rosanna told me to always keep a smile on my face and my body will follow! That is good advice for everyone! I love you and miss you Rosanna!

Here is me getting my chemo. By the way, the chemo nurse must wear a paper gown over her scrubs, a mask, and 2 pair of gloves before opening the bag containing the chemo drug Velcade and administering it to me!

3 thoughts on “Friday 10-01-10

  1. Blaire says:

    Wow! Great blog! Great advice from Rosanna! Great pic – despite the chemo and everything else, you look beautiful as ever! And in a few hours you will be home! YEA!

  2. Mama Glo says:

    I discovered your blog and love it. It’s so informative and makes us feel more connected to you. The first two weeks sound grueling, but you are handling it with such aplomb! I agree with Blair, you look beautiful, as usual. I don’t know how you do it….under the same circumstances, I’m sure I would look oike I had just been hauled out of a dumpster somewhere! Enjoy you week off! Love you! Mama Glo & Pappy

  3. hollyeasley says:

    Thank you Blaire!

    Glo, I had good intentions of sending the link to the blog but didn’t get it done! Glad you found it!

    I’m so enjoying being at home!
    Love to all,
    Holly

Leave a Reply

